Human Voice

National Education Policy-2020

Govt constitutes 3 panels in Ladakh UT for recommending measures for implementation of plan

1 min read

In a significant development, the administration of Ladakh Union Territory has set-up three committees for implementation of the National Education Policy-2020 in the newly carved out UT.

The UT-level Task Force and two sub-committees have been mandated to examine the provisions of NEP-2020 and identify specific measures for implementing the policy in the UT of Ladakh.

The committees have also been directed to assess manpower, financial, academic and training requirements for implementation of the policy.

The panels have been authorized to suggest procedural and policy changes that need to be made in achieving the objectives of NEP-2020.

According to an order issued by administration of Ladakh, the UT level task force would be headed by advisor to Lieutenant Governor and comprise of Vice-Chancellor of University of Ladakh, Administrative Secretary School Education Department, Administrative Secretary Higher Education Department, Administrative Secretary Technical Education and Director School Education Ladakh .

The sub-committees on School Education and Higher Education would be respectively headed by administrative secretaries of the departments.

These committees will also have academicians and principals of educational institutions from the region as their members.

In July 2020, the National Education Policy (NEP) was approved by the Union Cabinet to replace National Policy on Education-1986.

The policy ensures universal access at all levels of schooling from pre-primary school to grade 12. It also ensures quality early childhood care and education for all children between 3-6 years.